Now under the management of Rosewood Hotels & Resorts, the 18th century Hotel de Crillon in Paris reopened Wednesday after undergoing a four-year renovation.
Architect Richard Martinet led the restoration and renovation, including the landmark façade and grand reception rooms on the second floor, which are classified heritage landmarks.
The Salon Marie-Antoinette, Salon des Batailles and Salon des Aigles, also listed heritage landmarks, can be connected to accommodate events and meetings of varied sizes.
Hotel de Crillon has 78 rooms and 36 suites, two of which were decorated by fashion designer Karl Lagerfeld and dubbed "Les Grands Appartements.” There are also 10 signature suites, including one named after Louis XV, which boasts a private terrace that looks out onto Place de la Concorde. Three new suites were built during the renovation. Nestled under the property's mansard roof, the Ateliers d'Artistes pay tribute to Paris’ bohemian poets and painters.
French cuisine can be found across Hotel de Crillon’s restaurants and bars. L’Ecrin is headed by Chef Christopher Hache, whose previous restaurant at the hotel earned a Michelin star, seating only 22 guests a night. At the heart of the hotel is Brasserie d"Aumont, serving classic brasserie fare. At Jardin d"Hiver, guests can indulge in tea, champagne and pastries. La Cave holds Hôtel de Crillon"s collection of fine and rare wines. The subterranean space is also available for special food-and-wine pairing dinners upon request.
The property was commissioned by King Louis XV in 1758. It later became the personal residence of the family of the Count of Crillon, before becoming a palace hotel in 1909.